X will deactivate the Circles feature on October 31st
Software

X will deactivate the Circles feature on October 31st – it allowed posting to a limited group of subscribers

The social network X (formerly Twitter) will no longer support the Circles feature on October 31st. This allowed users to share posts with a limited audience instead of all subscribers.

    Image source: TRESOR69 / Pixabay

Image source: TRESOR69 / Pixabay

Circles were introduced to share information with a specific group of people. An official statement from Company X said that this feature will be disabled soon. This means that users cannot create posts within a limited circle of subscribers or add new members to it. However, you can still remove members from circles.

It is worth noting that the mentioned feature was introduced by Twitter in August 2022. At that time, Elon Musk was not yet the official owner of Twitter and was even considering the possibility of declining to buy the company. However, in April, some publications intended for Circles suddenly appeared in the general feed, violating the tool’s confidentiality policy.

Although X did not give specific reasons for abandoning Circles, it can be assumed that the reason was the active promotion of another feature – communities reminiscent of Facebook groups. The company may have decided that two identical features in one service are unnecessary.

About the author

Robbie Elmers

Robbie Elmers is a staff writer for Tech News Space, covering software, applications and services.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment