Unpacking and encryption lead at the IGF Awards 2022

Unpacking and encryption lead at the IGF Awards 2022

The Independent Games Festival 2022 has named the finalists for the 24th annual IGF Awards. Unpacking by Witch Beam and Inscryption by Daniel Mullins Games met in four categories, including the Seamus McNally Grand Prix (here the game of the year).

Encryption.  Image source: store.steampowered.com/app/1092790/Inscryption

Encryption. Image source: store.steampowered.com/app/1092790/Inscryption

Loop Hero from Four Quarters, The Eternal Cylinder from ACE Team, Cruelty Squad from Consumer Softproducts and Unsighted from Pixel Punk are also fighting for the main prize. This year nominees were selected from over 400 games. The winners will be announced at the IGF Awards on March 23rd.

List of nominations:

Seamus McNally Grand Prix

  • Encryption (Daniel Mullins Games);
  • Unpacking (witch ray);
  • Loop Hero (four quarters);
  • The Eternal Cylinder (ACE Team);
  • Cruelty Squad (Consumer Soft Products);
  • Invisible (pixel punk).

Honorable Mentions: Toem (Something We Made), Norco (Geography of Robots), Overboard! (inkle), Satumalia (Santa Ragione), Dodgeball Academia (Pocket Trap), Webbed (Sbug Games), Fuzz Dungeon (Jeremy Couillard).

“Excellence in Sound”

  • Toem (something we did);
  • Unpacking (witch ray);
  • Jett: The Far Shore (Superbrothers A / V + Pine Scented);
  • Mini highways (dinosaur polo club);
  • Sable (shedworks);
  • Encryption (Daniel Mullins Games).

Honorable Mentions: Severed Steel (Greylock Studios), A Musical Story (Glee-Cheese Studios), Death’s Door (Acid Nerve), The Vale: Shadow of the Crown (Falling Squirrel), Kena: Bridge of Spirits (Ember Lab), Overboard ! (inkle), The Wild at Heart (Moonlight Kids).

Design excellence

  • Encryption (Daniel Mullins Games);
  • Unpacking (witch ray);
  • Over board! (Incl.);
  • Strange Horticulture (Bad Viking);
  • Webbed (sbug games);
  • Midnight Minutes (LuGus Studios).

Honorable Mentions: Loop Hero (Four Quarters), Unsighted (Studio Pixel Punk), Mini Motorways (Dinosaur Polo Club), Card Shark (Nerial), KeyWe (Stonewheat & Sons), Sunshine Heavy Industries (Daisyowl Games).

“Excellence in storytelling”

  • Last Call (Nina Freeman & Jake Jeffries)
  • Neurocracy (Playthroughline);
  • Closed hands (passenger);
  • Over board! (Incl.);
  • Encryption (Daniel Mullins Games);
  • Unpacking (witch ray).

Honorable mentions: Card Shark (Nerial), Norco (Geography of Robots), The Big Con (Mighty Yell), Tux and Fanny (Ghost Time Games), Opus: Echo of Starsong (Sigono), Sable (Shedworks), Blackhaven (Historiated .) Games).

Excellence in visual arts

  • The Eternal Cylinder (ACE Team);
  • Behind the Frame: The Finest Scenery (Silver Lining Studio);
  • Papetura (petums);
  • Fuzz Dungeon (Jeremy Couillard);
  • The Wild at Heart (Moonlight Kids);
  • Jett: The Far Shore (Superbrothers A / V + Pine Scented).

Honorable Mentions: Inscryption (Daniel Mullins Games), A Musical Story (Glee-Cheese Studios), Kena: Bridge of Spirits (Ember Lab), Saturnalia (Santa Ragione), Stonefly (Flight School Studio), Cris Tales (Dreams Uncorporated, Syck .)).


  • Memory card (Lily Zone);
  • Octhryssia and Saturnia’s bureaucratic adventures (Outlands);
  • Space Hole 2020 (Sam Atlas);
  • Tux and Fanny (Ghost Time Games);
  • Cruelty Squad (Consumer Soft Products);
  • Sparkles & Gemstones (Resnijars);
  • Fuzz Dungeon (Jeremy Couillard);
  • Cuccchi (Fantastico Studio).

Honorable mentions: Last Call (Nina Freeman and Jake Jefferies), The Shape of Time (落日 间 xpaidia studio), The Under Presents (Tender Claws), ~ Song of Homunkulus ~ (Diamond Ace (Lily Zone + Zoë Sparks)), Card Shark (Nerial), The Vale: Shadow of the Crown (Falling Squirrel).

About the author

Alan Foster

Alan Foster covers computers and games and all the news in the gaming industry.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment