For this reason, Google has announced that it will delete user accounts that have not been active for two years. Now the IT giant has decided to let all users know about it by sending out appropriate notifications detailing the company’s policy regarding inactive accounts.
Policy messages for inactive accounts are sent from [email protected]. In it, Google provides a summary of the new policy. “We have extended the account inactivity period to two years for all of our products and services. This change goes into effect today and applies to all Google accounts that have been inactive; H. if they have not been registered or used for a period of two years. An inactive account and all content within it will be deleted effective December 1, 2023.”Google said in a statement.
Later in the letter, Google explained in more detail that the new rule only applies to users who haven’t logged into their account or used it to access other company services for more than two years. Although the new policy goes into effect this week, the process of deleting inactive accounts won’t begin until December of this year.
If Google deems the user’s account inactive, multiple emails will be sent to the user notifying them that the account will be deleted soon. According to reports, Google will start sending notifications to users eight months before the actual account deletion. Once an account has been deleted, the associated email address can no longer be used to create a new account. To keep your Google account, all you have to do is sign in at least once every two years.